the “joy” of the third trimester

lrqZP7xd6JNfkW57bhNQiZxRZNa2XqBU_lg

I am 34 weeks along now. And, as promised, I have a whole new list of complaints. Women who do pregnancy with ease and grace, I envy you.

There is a baby where my lungs used to be. Shortness of breath is now a regular occurrence.

Gas. All of the Gas. Fortunately I have not had any constipation or hemorrhoids so far.

The belly is now officially in the way. I cannot reach my feet comfortably. So I have been getting regular pedicures every 3 weeks #silverlinings. Shaving requires a unique set of acrobatic skills…and I’m not just talking about my legs. (I cannot see my bikini area at all…so I gotta just do it blind. Any formerly pregnant mamas have any tips? Google wasn’t helpful.) Plus, bending at the waist is no longer simple. And, I forget how much I stick out so I keep bumping into shit and knocking it over. Also, putting on my socks or getting out of bed now causes me to break a sweat.

Braxton Hicks. Imagine your bladder is being slowly squeezed in a vice grip, coupled with menstrual cramp-style pain, plus back pain and sore abs. And if you happen to have some gas going on in there during a contraction, it’s kind of like being stabbed.

I now receive a lot of unwanted attention. No one looks me in the eyes when they pass me in a hall. They are always looking at my belly. All my patients ask me if I am pregnant and then say “what are you having?” I just want to respond “a human, hopefully.” My coworkers, although very sweet, are constantly worried about me. I am perfectly capable of pushing a vital signs machine, or assisting with 3 other nurses in sliding a patient from the stretcher to the bed, or bending over and picking up something I dropped. But they are constantly fretting over me. I know they mean well, but I cannot wait for my belly to not be the first thing people notice when I walk into a room.

I am so tired all the time. It doesn’t help that I work night shift. I have tried everything. Eating red meat, more water, more protein, more vegetables, caffeine, naps, rest, exercise…but the exhaustion persists. I am just hoping the nesting instinct kicks in soon because I have a lot left to do before she arrives and I am mostly too lazy to do it on my days off.

It’s lonely. I am not sure if I feel this way just because I am so far away from my friends and family down here in Louisiana. But pregnancy has been one of the loneliest experiences of my life. It doesn’t matter how supportive my husband is (and he is)…he cannot understand what I feel like. Hell, half the time I cannot understand it either. And my emotions are all over the place…I don’t feel like myself most of the time. But I don’t have time for breakdowns and whatnot, so I just try to bottle it in. I don’t have a ton of friends who have been pregnant before, so there are few people I can actually talk to about everything. And this is not a reflection on my friends and family. It is just how it is. I cannot really share this experience with anyone else. And its not an easy experience. I suppose I should embrace the loneliness…cause pretty soon here, I will never be alone again. LOL

I am lucky. I have had no swelling, no excessive weight gain, no weird cravings, no complications so far. I am able to work full time and take care of my house and my dogs. I am just uncomfortable as f***. I am ready to have my body back and my energy back. And I am ready to meet our little one! Not much longer now 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

