taco-style zucchini boats (GF, low carb)

Featured Image Credit: Skinnytaste.com

Ok guys, I have decided this recipe is one of the greatest low-carb recipes on the planet. I served it with rice mixed with black beans and corn, so the whole low carb thing was not my end goal. For me, it was more about upping the veg and fiber in my life. Funny thing about pregnancy…you need a lot more fiber. But this recipe is also a great way for GF eaters to eat tacos without suffering through tortillas that have the flavor and texture of cardboard.

Regarding the toppings, you can go anywhere you like with this. Hot sauce and sour cream would have also been good. Pro tip: I buy pico de gallo in the refrigerated section of Trader Joes. It is absolutely my fave. I like the spicy kind, but they have mild too. Saves you a lot of time chopping veggies. Plus it’s so much better than jarred salsa. Instead of guacamole, I just mashed up a little avocado with some fresh lime juice and salt. I had some avocados on hand that were on their way out. But homemade or store-bought guac (I love me some Wholly Guacamole, and Sabre’s guac isn’t bad either) would be a delish topping!

hot-pico-de-gallo-salsa-300x219

As for the cheese, I used a store bought shredded Mexican blend. But any cheese would be good (jack, pepper jack, cheddar, gouda, smoked gouda, feta…literally anything because cheese=life). And feel free to top it with as much as you like if 3/4 cup isn’t enough (or less if you are going for low-fat too).

Oh and here is another possibility…if you are vegetarian, you can always sub out the turkey for mashed up firm tofu. If you are a vegan, I am not convinced you can possibly enjoy life or this recipe because…as I said…cheese=life.

Note: this recipe can be fully assembled and frozen for meal prep or just stuck in the fridge for later in the week! Just wait to bake until right before you plan to eat it.

Also, classic me, I forgot to take pictures before I stuffed my face, so I stole photos from the great Google Images. Essentially my recipe was an updated version of the Skinnytaste recipe (great food blog btw). So I will use her photo, but mine looked a little different. Check out my recipe below!

taco-stuffed-zucchni-boats-550x367

Image credit: Skinnytaste.com

taco-style zucchini boats

ingredients

olive oil

4 average-sized zucchinis

1/2 small onion, chopped

1/2 green pepper, chopped

salt and pepper

1/2 lb of ground turkey

1 package of taco seasoning

3/4 c of shredded cheese

A few thin slices of red onion

Taco toppings of your choice!

  1. Bring a pot of salted water to boil. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Rub a couple tablespoons of olive oil in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.
  3. Trim the ends off the zucchini, then slice them in half lengthwise. Using a small spoon or melon baller, hollow out the center of the zucchini halves, leaving 1/4-inch thick shell on each half. (see photo below)
  4. Chop the scooped out flesh of the zucchini into small pieces.
  5. Drop zucchini halves in boiling water and cook 1 minute. Remove from water and dry off. Lay the halves, skin side down, in the baking dish.
  6. Meanwhile, heat up some olive oil in a skillet and sauté the peppers and onions until softened and slightly brown, adding salt and pepper to taste (careful with the salt…there is a LOT of it in the taco seasoning).
  7. Add the turkey and the chopped zucchini flesh and break it all up in the pan while it browns. Brown until the turkey is fully cooked. Add the package of taco seasoning and stir to combine. Continue cooking for another minute or so to marry all the flavors.
  8. Remove the turkey mixture from the heat and divide it evenly between the zucchini, filling each (boat) with the meat/veg combo. Top with cheese and sliced red onion.
  9. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 35 minutes, or until the zucchini is slightly softened and the cheese is melty and bubbly.
  10. Serve topped with your favorite taco toppings!

hollowed-zucchini-boats-550x550

Image credit: Skinnytaste.com

Leave a Reply

