freezer foods: breakfast burritos

I know National Burrito Day was yesterday. But it got me so in the mood for burritos that I decided to make some breakfast burritos to stuff in my freezer.

This recipe is super easy. And I suck at measuring but I’ll do my best so you can replicate it. These will freeze for 3 months (although if I’m honest, I usually freeze things until they are freezer burnt or get eaten lol).

It all starts with perfectly scrambled eggs. This recipe is good for five burritos. I use the 8 inch tortillas, but you can also make homemade ones. They are easy and also will freeze in a baggie nicely. I prefer flour to corn tortillas. But you can use corn tortillas if you prefer.

So for five tortillas I used 8 eggs and about 3/4 c of cheese. Shredded cheese, either Cheddar, Mexican Blend, or Taco-style  goes on the tortilla first. Then the cooked eggs and then a salsa of your choice (I like Picante sauce).

IMG_2611

The trick is not to overstuff these puppies. You can add veggies or other meats…but you probably want to cut back on the amount of eggs so they aren’t too full or they won’t roll.

Then we roll them…

Fold-a-Burrito

So then we have to seal the end of the tortilla shell. So place each burrito seam-side down first in a dry nonstick skillet on medium heat until it browns. Then turn them around, letting them brown on each side.

Then you just let them cool. I wrap each one in a paper towel and put them all in a labeled baggie before I throw them in the freezer.

Wondering where the 5th burrito went?

In my belly…with my favorite toppings…Cholula and guacamole.

It was not long for this world.

NOM NOM NOM

Breakfast Burritos

Ingredients

5 large flour tortillas

8 eggs, scrambled

3/4 c of shredded cheese

1/4 c of picante salsa

Instructions

Split the ingredients evenly between the 5 tortillas. Roll. Sauté in dry skillet as detailed above. Wrap each in a separate paper towel and put in a labeled baggie. Freeze for up to 3 months.

To defrost: Nuke burrito (still wrapped in paper towel) in the microwave for 1-2 mins/burrito. Sauté in dry skillet until just barely crispy. Serve with toppings of choice (i.e. sour cream, more cheese, hot sauce, more salsa, refried beans, or guac).

Leave a Reply

