April 6: National Burrito Day

It is every pregnant woman’s dream. An excuse to eat burritos…not that I need one.

I thought about making my own and posting about it, but I didn’t feel like it, so we ordered takeout. #realtalk

Remember that episode of Desperate Housewives where Susan goes to the Lamaze class with a burrito in hand?

One of my fave scenes. And reminds me of this moment, as I savor the perfection that is this burrito.

Have you ever bothered to look up the origin of the humble Mexican staple? First of all, the word “burrito” in Spanish means “little donkey,” which is a reference to the appearance of bedrolls and packs that donkeys carried back in the day.

98dfe7a1e4060a06fba5c45f1552dda8

The Mesoamerican peoples of Mexico used corn tortillas to wrap food with fillings (usually chili peppers and regional vegetables). The Pueblo peoples in the US did the same thing. It was sort of like the Mexican version of the sandwich – an early convenience food. A package of nutrition you could eat with your hands while working in the fields.

Now we have everything from breakfast burritos to sushi burritos.

maxresdefault

Personally my favorite burrito of all time (seriously my mouth is watering just thinking about it) is from Qdoba. #noshame. I like mine naked (no tortilla)…chicken, queso, grilled veg, black beans, cilantro lime rice, pico de gallo, corn salsa, guacamole, and lots of lettuce. It’s fairly healthy (save for the salt content and the molten cheese), and its f***ing delicious. And now I want one.

qdoba-better-chipotle

Looking to make some dank burritos at home? Here are some awesome looking recipes I found with a quick google search.

Also Dank Burrito is the name of a company in Morehead City which looks freaking amazing but which, for some stupid reason we have not yet partaken in.

10342921_295067034007499_3427045549956215059_n

Check out their menu here. And tell me your mouth isn’t watering…I know it is.

My burrito was delish. Shredded beef and tomato sauce with salsa verde and queso and guac.

IMG_2606

And I had a little Mock-A-Rita. (Basically my homemade limeade…recipe coming soon).

I hope you all had as wonderful a National Burrito Day as I did. Cheers to all the food based holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

