homemade french baguette

First of all…this is the greatest recipe of all time. Second of all, you will need a bread maker.

If you have never made homemade bread because it seems like a lot of work, first of all, its not (even without a bread maker), and second of all, you should maybe go ahead and get a bread maker because it is so much better than store bought bread I cannot even tell you. I am 16 weeks pregnant and today I thought to myself, I have nothing to do, lets bake some bread. So I baked two loaves of french bread. But, like I said I am 16 weeks pregnant. So once I baked the loaves, I proceeded to eat half of one of them (not an exaggeration) slathered in vegan butter (which I prefer to regular butter when spreading on bread).

IMG_2599I had to make myself a cup of my favorite tea in order to stop myself from eating the other half, or for all I knew, the second loaf. It is easy to get carried away when the sweet heady smell of fresh baked bread is wafting around your house. The recipe is below (courtesy of Cuisinart). And for those of you who like to make whole wheat versions of bread….DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT try that with this recipe. I did it once…with 1/2 WW and 1/2 white flour. The loaves were so hard I threw them in the freezer* and plan to turn them into bread crumbs, or build a house with them at a later date. Also if you do not have wheat germ you can just omit it…its just as good.

Recipe:IMG_2604

*These loaves freeze quite nicely. Just wrap them in foil and label them. Either defrost on the counter before warming up in the oven, or throw the frozen loaves in the foil into the oven at 350 until you can smell them 🙂

Leave a Reply

